Municipal Law

Pashman Stein Walder Hayden attorneys have extensive experience representing public entities at various levels of government, including municipalities, counties, housing authorities, improvement authorities, boards of education, prosecutors’ offices, State authorities, and the State itself. Our attorneys have specific expertise in the Tort Claims Act and defending public entities and employees against various civil rights claims, from trial through appeal.

Pashman Stein Walder Hayden provides practical, cost-effective legal advice to New Jersey municipal and county governmental entities. Our attorneys serve as general counsel to municipalities throughout New Jersey and as special counsel to counties and municipalities on matters requiring expertise such as affordable housing, redevelopment projects, land use, contract negotiations, environmental law, election law, tax abatements, municipal investment, civil rights defense and appellate litigation. We also serve as general counsel to land use boards.

We understand that municipal officials often must make difficult decisions quickly and in response to public demands, and we take pride in providing advice in a timely and professional manner.

We have extensive experience with the statutes and regulations applicable to local governments and can provide expert direction in each area, including:

  • Fair Housing Act
  • Local Public Contracts Law
  • Local Redevelopment and Housing Law
  • Municipal Land Use Law
  • Open Public Meetings Act
  • Open Public Records Act

Our multidisciplinary approach to municipal law allows us to represent government entities and their employees in a wide range of municipal litigation including prerogative writ matters challenging both municipal and land board approvals, and claims arising under the Tort Claims Act and Section 1983.

Below is a listing of New Jersey counties, municipalities, boards of education and local authorities which Pashman Stein Walder Hayden has represented in the past five years:

  • New Jersey Schools Insurance Group
  • State of New Jersey
  • New Jersey Turnpike Authority
  • New Jersey Transit
  • Township of Pemberton
  • Borough of Spring Lake
  • Township of Holmdel
  • Township of Manalapan
  • Township of Upper Freehold
  • Borough of Tinton Falls
  • Township of Montville
  • Township of West Orange
  • Bergen Arts and Science Charter School
  • Bloomfield Board of Education
  • Boonton Board of Education
  • East Orange Board of Education
  • Edgewater Board of Education
  • Essex County Vocation Board of Education
  • Franklin Board of Education
  • Hammonton Board of Education
  • Harrison Board of Education
  • Hudson County Vocational Board of Education
  • Jersey City Board of Education
  • Linden Board of Education
  • Lodi Board of Education
  • Metuchen Board of Education
  • Monroe Township Board of Education
  • Morris Board of Education
  • North Bergen Board of Education
  • Northern Valley Regional High School Board of Education
  • Orange Board of Education
  • Perth Amboy Board of Education
  • Passaic County Technical School
  • Plainfield Board of Education
  • Pleasant Tech Academy
  • Roselle Board of Education
  • South Orange/Maplewood Board of Education
  • Totowa Board of Education
  • Union City Board of Education
  • Warren County Special Services Board of Education
  • Wayne Board of Education
  • West New York Board of Education
  • West New York Parking Authority
  • Town of West New York
  • West Orange Board of Education
  • Westwood Board of Education
  • Paterson Municipal Utilities Authority
  • New Jersey Higher Education Student Assistance Authority
  • Passaic Valley Water Commission
  • Village of Airmont, New York